Review of 'Up the Garden Path' by Patsy Collins

Below is my Goodreads review of ‘Up the Garden Path’.

Up The Garden PathUp The Garden Path by Patsy Collins

My rating: 4 of 5 stars

As well as being a much-published author, of magazine stories and of three published novels, Patsy Collins is an enthusiastic gardener, something which comes across in this collection of twenty-four short stories. Published by Alfie Dog, this collection is Patsy at her best – people-centred, accessible, well-constructed and written in good English.

My favourite, I think, was ‘Watchdog’, which was about an illusive Intruder, who turned out to be nothing of the sort. I should have seen it coming, especially as the mc could well have been me. The petty-criminal mc of ‘Mrs Dalrymple’, however, got his come uppance – you should never underestimate the acumen of older ladies! ‘Easter at Eleanor’s’ was poignant, about an aunt, who on being asked to look after her niece’s children, planned some good healthy and jolly old fashioned activities to entertain them. You think you can guess what happened next? Well, read the collection of stories to find out.

Patsy is now working on a fourth novel, ‘Poppyfield Farm’.
View all my reviews

2 thoughts on “Review of 'Up the Garden Path' by Patsy Collins

Add yours

  1. Thanks very much for this!

    You might like to know that Watchdog is based on a real event, which happened to my grandmother. Penny was also real, and incredibly long lived. She got her name just as it says in the story.

    Like

  2. Interesting about Watchdog. I’m a terrible one for hearing ‘noises’ when i’m on the house alone.

    Like

Leave a comment

Create a website or blog at WordPress.com

Up ↑